How to Smoosh a Leaf

As you may recall, yesterday was my fall leaf card, and here are the promised instructions.

slide1

 

I’ll start out with the supplies:

Stampin’ Write Markers in Cajun Craze, Pumpkin Pie, Rich Razzleberry, Delightful Dijon, and Old Olive.

Stampin’ Mister filled with water

Vintage Leaves Stamp Set

Soft Suede Stampin’ Pad

Clear blocks

Sponge

Tin of Cards Stamp Set

Cajun Craze Card stock

Vanilla cardstock

Watercolor paper

Woodland textured embossing folder

Sponge Brayer

Linen thread

Gold 1/8″ Ribbon

A laminated sheet of paper, or a piece of thicker acetate

slide1

Here are the supplies, all ready to go.

First, you will color on your laminated sheet. Be sure and use the brush tip and really get some good pigment on the page.

slide1

Now, liberally spritz your card with water.slide1

Now for the fun part, take your watercolor paper, measuring roughly 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″, and lay it face down on the wet, inked surface. DO NOT MOVE THE PAPER AROUND. Moving it around will result in a muddy, brownish color. Let it lay where you first placed it.  Then, press down on the paper to let it absorb the ink. Wipe off the excess color from the edges.slide1

Gently flip it over and check out your masterpiece of color.

slide1

I wanted something a little bit more vibrant, so I added more marker color to the already wet and inky laminated sheet and I smooshed it again.  This came out to be the colors I had in mind.slide1

Let this dry completely!! I cheated and used my embossing heat tool. Once it is dry, you can stamp the leaves using soft suede directly onto your watercolor masterpiece.

slide1

Next, I cut them out with the coordinating leaf dies.  I stacked them up, securing them to each other using tombo glue and tied the entire bunch at the top with linen thread and gold ribbon.  Now I set the leaves aside.

For the background, I embossed a 5 1/4″x4″ piece of very vanilla using the woodlands folder.  Before I did that, I used the sponge roller to roll on crumb cake on the side that says sizzix on it.   This will color the background and put a bit of color on the tree bark.

I adhered this sheet to a card base of cajun craze and then I adhered the leaves onto the embossed sheet. I only adhered the top section of the leaves, as I wanted them to have a feeling of movement. It felt like it needed a little extra pizazz, so I covered all of the leaves in clear Wink of Stella.  That little bit of extra shine does a card a lot of good. slide1

For the interior, I placed a sheet of very vanilla (5 1/4″x4″) and lightly distressed the edges using the sponge with crumb cake color on it.  The leaf is in cajun craze stamped off twice. The cute little sentiment came from the Tin of Cards set.slide1

Happy Fall, Y’all!

Enjoy and happy stamping!

 

2 thoughts on “How to Smoosh a Leaf

Leave a Reply

